Who’s who in the Democratic Congress . . .

MASERU — Below we list the top leadership of the Democratic Congress, an offshoot of the Lesotho Congress for Democracy party.  The members listed below make up the new party’s interim national executive committee.

Pakalitha Mosisili is the leader of the DC. He serves as Prime Minister and National Security Minister. He is also the MP for Tsoelike constituency in Qacha’s Nek. Mosisili had been at the helm of the Lesotho Congress for Democracy (LCD) since 1998, having succeeded LCD founder Ntsu Mokhehle. He has however been entangled in a messy factional battle with the LCD national executive committee for the past two years until he tendered his resignation to join the DC yesterday. The DC became the new government after 45 MPs crossed the floor to join the new party.

Monyane Moleleki, who is the natural resources minister, is the DC’s deputy leader. Moleleki is the MP for Machache constituency in Maseru and former publisher of the LCD party’s propaganda mouthpiece Mololi newspaper. He was ousted from the party’s NEC during the 2009 executive committee elections. He however led a vicious power struggle with a rival faction of the LCD led by former communications minister Mothetjoa Metsing. Moleleki crossed to the DC with Mosisili yesterday and is tipped to succeed Mosisili in the event that he steps down.

Ralechate ‘Mokose, who is the agriculture minister, is the new party’s secretary general. He is the MP for Kolonyama constituency in Leribe. ‘Mokose is considered a die-hard Mosisili supporter. He defected with Mosisili yesterday to join the DC.

Lebamang Maqaleha, is the chairman for the DC. He is the MP for Mechachane constituency in Butha-Buthe and a loyal supporter of Mosisili.

‘Mamphono Khaketla, is the new party’s treasurer. She is the Minister of Education and Training

Semano Sekatle is the party’s new deputy secretary general. Sekatle is the MP for Lebakeng constituency in Qacha’s Nek and is Minister of Public Works and Transport. He is considered a Mosisili loyalist.

Kose Makoa is the new party’s deputy chairman. Makoa is the MP for Mt Moorosi constituency in Quthing and a loyal supporter of Mosisili.

‘Malebaka Bulane is the new party’s public relations officer. Bulane is a PR MP and is the mother to the late Lebaka Bulane, who was the secretary general of the LCD youth league.

Ts’oeu Mokeretla is the party’s deputy public relations officer. He is the MP for Mashai constituency and is considered a loyal Mosisili supporter.

Serialong Qoo is the publisher for the new party. Qoo is the MP for Malingoaneng constituency MP and is also considered a loyal Mosisili supporter.

Comments are closed.