Three-horse race for FLR presidency


Leemisa Thuseho

LETSIELO Mabitle and Moleleki Moleleki will challenge the incumbent Federation Lesotho Rugby (FLR) president Fetang Selialia in the association’s upcoming elections, the Lesotho Times can reveal.

The federation is going for its elective annual general meeting (AGM) on 17 April at a yet to be announced venue. The current committee’s term ended in January this year.

Mabitle is the current FLR vice president while Moleleki is a former vice president.

The FLR secretary general Litšitso Motšeremeli confirmed that the afore mentioned trio has been confirmed for the presidency race.

“The closing date for nomination forms was last week and after all the names were submitted, the executive committee met on Tuesday to confirm the list of candidates for the elections,” Motšeremeli said.

“There are only three candidates contesting for the presidency position namely the current president (Selialia), his deputy (Mabitle) and former vice president (Moleleki).”

Although the list was yet to be communicated officially to the stakeholders this week, Motšeremeli said preparations for the elections were on the right track.

Selialia has earlier announced his intention to step down saying he was considering to become an ordinary committee member. The decision was driven by the need to give others a chance to lead the association while he was attending to personal businesses.

However, Motšeremeli said it was a difficult decision to let Selialia go because “he is still the right candidate to lead the association for the next four years”. Therefore, they successfully persuaded him to stand for another term.

“Yes, he (Selialia) wanted to step down but his qualities and experience forced us to persuade him. We still want to use him,” Motšeremeli said.

Selialia was first appointed to the presidency position in 2014 after the federation’s founding president Dan Alyward, stepped down when he returned to England.

Selialia was Alyward’s deputy. Alyward was appointed the first FLR on the federation’s formation in 2012. He was officially elected into office in January 2017 during the federation’s debut constitutional elections.

In other positions, current deputy secretary Ntsane Mahlatsi is unchallenged in his bid to become the next vice president.

Khauhelo Raphepheng will be the vice secretary as he is the only candidate contesting for that position.

The current rugby 15-aside national team coach, Realeboga Segoete and Motlatsi Mohlomi, are fighting for the treasure post.

There are three ordinary member positions in the executive and these are being contested by Morapeli Motaung, Setumo Monikazi, Palesa Pitso, Emmanuel Mpakeletsa, and Refuoe Makhasane.

The players’ representative position battle is between Paul Mari and Reatile Joele while Kananelo Mokhachane will become the women’s representative since she is not challenged.

According to Motšeremeli, the public relations officer will be appointed from among the three elected ordinary members after the elections.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.