Home Sport Premiership endorses Thotanyana’s executive

Premiership endorses Thotanyana’s executive

by Lesotho Times
1 comment

Mikia Kalati

The entire Premier League executive led by Lebohang Thotanyana was retained for another three-year term during Sunday’s election held at Bambatha Tšita Sports Arena.
According to the league’s Public Relations Officer, Mosito Lekholoa, only Thabo Maretlane would not be part of the executive after choosing not to stand in the poll.

Kick4Life spokesperson, Ramafahla Thamae, was elected to replace Maretlane, and according to Lekholoa, the re-election was an endorsement of the executive.
“The fact that all of us who stood for re-election retained our positions, shows there might be something right we did in the previous term,” Lekholoa said.
“We already have our strategic plan in place and within the next few months, we will be implementing this vision to help raise the standard of the game in the country.”
Lekholoa added there was still room for improvement as the league body still faced several challenges.

“One can never be satisfied, but there has been a lot of improvement as all of our three major competitions have sponsorship,” said Lekholoa.
“The most important part is that we have managed to bring back the Top 8 competition, which would now be entering its second year with the coming of the 2014/15 season.”
The retention of Vodacom Lesotho as the Premier League’s sponsor was also another positive development for the game, Lekholoa further said.

“What we are doing at the moment is trying to convince our sponsors to increase the prize money of our competitions, which I believe can help improve the standard of the game because there would be more at stake.”

Lekholoa also said all was set for the 2014/15 league campaign to begin next week. The Premier League season starts on 23 August with a double-header at Setsoto Stadium between defending champions, Bantu and rookies Kick4Life, while Lioli face Sandawana FC, formerly known as Mpharane Celtic.

Full Premier League executive
Chairman –– Lebohang Thotanyana; Vice Chairman –– John Leuta; Secretary-Sefako Seema; Vice Secretary-Lehlohonolo Matlosa; Public Relations Officer-Mosito Lekholoa; Committee Member-Ramafahla Thamae.

You may also like

Comments are closed.

About Us

Lesotho’s widely read newspaper, published every Thursday and distributed throughout the country and in some parts of South Africa. Contact us today: News: editor@lestimes.co.ls 

Advertising: marketing@lestimes.co.ls 

Telephone: +266 2231 5356