Parties agree on date for reopening of parliament

LESOTHO’S political parties on Thursday signed the Maseru Facilitation Declaration under which they agreed to reopen Parliament on 17 October 2014.

Thereafter, the August house would be dissolved in early December with the early election that was recommended by the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) set to take place at the end of February 2015 on a date that shall be announced by His Majesty King Letise III.
According to the declaration, the SADC observer mission currently in Lesotho will remain in the country until the conclusion of the election roadmap announced by the facilitator, South African Vice-President Cyril Ramaphosa.

Among those present at the announcement was All Basotho Convention leader, Prime Minister Thomas Thabane, Lesotho Congress for Democracy leader, Deputy Prime Minister Mothetjoa Metsing, Basotho National Party leader and Sports minister Thesele ‘Maseribane who constitute the coalition government. Also in attendance was Democratic Congress deputy leader Monyane Moleleki, the leadership of all the country’s political parties and senior government officials.

Comments are closed.