Home Sport Motena vows to improve women’s soccer

Motena vows to improve women’s soccer

by Lesotho Times

Leemisa Thuseho

THE newly elected National Women’s Football Committee president Baholo Motene has vowed to improve the standards of women football in the country.

Under her leadership, the committee will work towards improving and stabilising district women football leagues.

Motene said this after her election during Saturday’s election at Bambatha Tšita Sports Arena, in Maseru.

The former LDF ladies’ defender believes that district football and grassroots competitions have the potential of spearheading the growth of local football.

“Developing district football is our main objective,” Motena said.

“We have already deployed people in the districts whose mandate is to set up active district leagues.

“We will try all means possible to organise as many events as possible all year round… that will increase awareness of women’s football in the grassroots and draw more women to the sport.”

Motene is also looking forward to increasing the number of female coaches, referees and administrators.

The former Women Super League (WSL) secretary is succeeding her former coach at national level Puseletso ‘Selepe’ Mokhosi.

Mokhosi and Motena were the only two candidates competing for the presidency position. Mokhosi scored 30 against Motena’s 48. Mokhosi had been in the post since 2016.

Motene is becoming the committee’s third president after Mokhosi and Maleshoane Mokhathi.

She is hopeful for a tenure that will be more successful than that of her predecessors.

“We will not change anything but just take it from where the outgoing committee left. The outgoing president was previously my coach and mentor… I will always approach her for guidance,” Motene said.

For now, the WSL is running without sponsors and is fully funded by the Lesotho Football Association (LeFA).

“This means we must focus on bringing on board sponsors who will help host tournaments.”

For her part, Mokhosi congratulated the new committee and wished it well in its four-year tenure.


National Women Football Committee

President — Baholo Motene

Vice President — Lekhooa Thabaneng

Secretary — ‘Matlotliso Mporo

Vice secretary — Exinia Mokati

Public relations officer — Tokelo Mosia

Committee members; Khothalang Moletsane, ‘Mapula Matjelo and Bolokoe

You may also like

Leave a Comment