Mohapi’s Under-20s in camp

MASERU — The national Under-20 side will begin a two-week camp next Monday.

It will be Motheo Mohapi’s first opportunity in charge after the LDF assistant coach and former Likuena gaffer was hired as the Makoanyane XI mentor at the end of last month.

A 25-strong training squad has been selected and will camp at Bambatha from July 13 to 27.

“We are going to assess these players. They are players that have been in the national set-up before,” Mohapi told the Lesotho Times yesterday.

Mohapi added that next week’s campers weren’t the Makoanyane XI final squad.

There will be another Under-20 camp to be held at the beginning of August to be attended by a different batch of players.

“This is a talent identification process. We want to find players from all divisions,” he said.

“At the start of next month we will have other players mainly from schools coming here to camp.”

Mohapi added: “I don’t want to just start a new team as if there was nothing that had come before me. We need to assess all players.

“This is a process. We will be cutting and chopping until we have an elite squad.”

The camps are in preparation for the COSAFA Under-20 Championships which will be held in December.

“It’s positive that we are starting so early,” Mohapi said.

“We have time to focus on and implement the programmes that we need.”

Under-20 squad

Goalkeepers: Daniel Jousse (Likhopo), Tšotleho Thabisi (Butha-Buthe Fast XI), Pule Agente (Majantja), Nkoko Matla (LMPS Leribe).

Defenders: Basia Makepa (Joy), Selbone Lekhooa (Likhopo) Motoki Mohale, Tsoanelo Koetle (both Matlama), Kopane Tseka (Mphatlalatsane).

Midfielders: Makara Ntaitsane (Lerotholi), Litšepe Marabe, Mosioua Boseka (both Matlama), Jerry Kamele (Joy), Rethabile Rautsi (Likhopo), Tumelo Majara, Samson Phohlo (both Nyenye Rovers), Teboho Nkabane (Lioli), Jeremane Lelia (Majantja), Teboho ‘Mota (Butha-Buthe Fast XI).

Strikers: Montoeli Senopo (Nyenye Rovers), Seenyane Nthejane (Rovers), Rethabile Rabele (Semonkong United), Lehlomela Ramabele (Mabeona), Motlatsi Nkhabu (Majantja).

Comments are closed.