Home Entertainment Miss Vodacom PC to grab Florid Super-Lux

Miss Vodacom PC to grab Florid Super-Lux

by Lesotho Times
0 comment 30 views

MASERU — Miss Vodacom PC FM will this year get a grand prize of a GWM Florid Super-Lux car, the organisers of the pageant have announced.

The Chinese-made hatch retails at about R110 000.

Last year’s winner of the pageant, Karabelo Mokoallo (pictured), was given a Chevrolet Spark that was selling at R72 000.

Lieketseng Tsietsi of People’s Choice (PC) FM said this year they would have wanted to give away two cars, the other one going to the first princess.

“Things didn’t go according to our ambition,” she told the Weekender.

Tsietsi said instead they had decided to give the winner a “high quality” car.

This time round the organisers have drawn up a budget of M420 000, up from last year’s M350 000.

Vodacom Lesotho has upped its sponsorship package by M40 000 to M190 000.

A huge chunk of the budget is expected to go towards bringing in artists from South Africa to perform at the event on July 24.

South African stars Big Nuz and Theo Kgosinkwe have been lined up for the pageant while a host of locals will also be roped in for the event.

Vodacom Lesotho’s acting marketing manager, Refiloe Mohlotsane, told journalists this week they expected this year’s show to be bigger and better.

“We have initiated marketing campaigns to create momentum for the gala,” she said.

“We are hoping to attract more supporters and to cater even for those that support the event but are not able to be part of the actual contest on the night because of the entrance fee.”

The entrance fee has been pegged at M250.

The 16 contestants for the Miss Vodacom PC FM title have already been shortlisted.

Tsietsi said 33 girls had entered the contest before the final shortlist was made last week after auditions.

Only persons aged between 18 and 24 years are eligible for the pageant, which is in its 11th year running.

The finalists are already doing rehearsals ahead of the big night set for July 24.

The finalists are Nthabiseng Mpakanyane, ‘Nesoang Mpota, Teboho Ntšasa, Thato Mosooane, ‘Masefo Mokoma, Khopotso Mosito, Palesa Lebelonyane, Thandiwe Mponzo, Joice Khajoane, ‘Mantimile Sello, Tebello Kobeli, Lolam Soere, Liseloane Malelu, Gladys Pelesa, Konosoang Setlai and Limpho Phosholi.

You may also like