Miss Vodacom PC FM to win Chevrolet Spark

MASERU — Hold your breath!

Miss Vodacom PC FM 2009 will drive away a brand new Chevrolet Spark, organisers of the popular beauty pageant announced this week.

This will be the first time in the history of the pageant that a car will be the major prize.

Vodacom Lesotho has pumped out M150 000 to buy the car and other prizes as well as to cover the costs of running the pageant.

The massive sponsorship has for the first time seen the mobile telecommunications giant sharing the naming rights for the pageant with People’s Choice FM.

Miss PC FM started in 2000.

Vodacom Lesotho has been backing Miss PC FM since 2005, but had until now remained behind the scenes.

“There is much more than M150 000 that has been put aside to buy a car and (fund) other preparations,” Thabiso Letsoela, Vodacom Lesotho’s head of marketing, told a media briefing this week.

He said Vodacom Lesotho had decided to collaborate with PC FM because the event was more than just about beauty.

“We collaborated because the principle behind the beauty pageant is not just about beauty but talent, exposure and personality,” Letsoela said.

“So we are going to empower, groom the winner and give her the opportunity as a role model to work with our societies.”

Letsoela said Vodacom Lesotho had also been impressed by PC FM’s ability to sustain the pageant as one of the popular entertainment events in the country over the years.

“When you look back, PC FM has had this pageant for a long time and carried it out continuously,” he said.

A bevy of 16 beauties has already been shortlisted for Miss Vodacom PC, scheduled for July 11 at ‘Manthabiseng Convention Centre in Maseru.

Only persons aged between 18 and 24 years are eligible for the pageant.

Auditions were held a fortnight ago.

Any one of the following will drive the Chevrolet Spark home: Karabelo Mokoallo, Masello Jafeta, Matseliso Matela, Likeleli Khotle, Thato Phakela, Refiloe Letokoto, Keneuoe Mochela, Gladys Pelesa, Itumeleng Komane, Ithabeleng Hlalele, Mantuna Makoro, Lerato Brown, Mamolefi Seloanyane, Teboho Ntsasa, Lineo Ratia and Lerato Nketu.

Comments are closed.