Likhopo to host prestigious tourney

By Moorosi Tsiane

MASERU — Former premier league champions Likhopo will host a joint soccer fiesta with South African premier league giants, Free State Stars at the Setsoto Stadium this weekend.

The tournament, dubbed Prime Minister’s Charity Cup which was launched on Monday will be hosted through the sports ministry with the office of the Prime Minister and will feature eight teams.

Four premier league giants Linare, Lioli, Matlama and Bantu, together with their two A-Division counterparts Majantja and Liphakoe will join tournament hosts Likhopo and Free State Stars for this football festival.

On behalf of the tournament’s organising committee, Likhopo’s team manager Qamako Mahao said winners and runners-up are expected to get the M20 000 and M10 000 prize monies respectively which will be donated to charity organisations of the winning teams’ choice.

According to Mahao, the tournament’s preparations are at an advanced stage as even the South African guests are expected to arrive in the country tomorrow.

“Free State Stars have stated that they are ready for the soccer extravaganza although they have said that should they win, they would not be taking away any money but would give it up for charity locally,” Mahao said.

The tournament is part of the football fraternity’s social responsibility to give back to the less privileged following the PM’s declaration of a food famine soon after his installation into office in August 2012.

Mahao said all the participating teams had already confirmed their readiness to participate in the high-stakes tournament.

He said there were still sponsorship responses from some of the local corporations.

Mahao said they hoped to hold the tournament annually due to its importance.

The Lesotho Times understands that teams will receive sporting kits for participating in the competition, with the winners receiving medals and a trophy together with the prize money to be donated for charity.

The tournament will be held in knock-out fashion where four quarter-final matches will be played on the first day with the semi finals and the finals on the last day.


Comments are closed.