Home NewsLocal News LCD youth leaders to bounce back

LCD youth leaders to bounce back

by Lesotho Times
1 comment

MASERU — Former members of the dissolved Lesotho Congress for Democracy (LCD) youth league national executive committee are set to bounce back after they were nominated to stand in elections next Friday.

A final list of nominees released by the ruling party on Thursday last week shows that almost half a dozen members of the previous committee had been nominated to contest the August 27 polls to elect new leadership for the youth league.

The previous executive committee was dissolved by the party in October 2008 for alleged insubordination.

Analysts say the dissolution of the committee was linked to the bitter factionalism rocking the party.

There are two factions in the youth league believed to be either backing Communications Minister Mothetjoa Metsing or Natural Resources Minister Monyane Moleleki.

The two have in the past denied leading factions vying to succeed party leader Pakalitha Mosisisili.

The youth league is a key cog in the LCD party politics whose influence could determine who eventually takes over from Mosisili if he decides to step down.

Those nominated to contest the elections include former youth league president Rethabile Marumo, ex-treasurer Molebatseng Makhata and former public relations officer Thuso Litjobo.

Marumo has been nominated to contest the youth league presidency while Litjobo and Makhata have been nominated for the chairmanship and treasurer’s posts respectively.

If the three decide to contest and win the posts at the conference it could mark a remarkable political comeback for the trio who were kicked out of their posts two years ago.

The list of nominees was approved by the LCD national executive committee, the national women’s committee, the current youth committee, the party’s elders’ committee, two secretaries of LCD province youth committees comprising the Gauteng and Free State Provinces as well as secretaries of constituency youth committees nationwide.

Marumo, the former youth league president, is the ruling party MP for Mohobollo constituency in Leribe district.

She is said to enjoy the support of a significant section of the party’s inner circle.

If Marumo decides to throw her hat into the ring she will take on current president Mosala Mojakisane and secretary-general Selibe Mochoboroane.

Former youth league chairperson Lebaka Bulane has been nominated for the post of secretary general.

Qeme constituency MP and former secretary-general of the youth league, Kali Seithleko, has also been nominated for the same post.

Also nominated for the post of secretary-general is the incumbent secretary-general Mochoboroane and current youth league vice-president Ntsekiseng Mona.

Other prominent nominees featuring on the list include National Independent Party legislator, ‘Matlotliso Lebajoa, and Hololo constituency MP Teboho Lets’ela.

They have both been nominated for the post of the league’s vice-presidency.

When contacted for comment on Tuesday, Marumo declined to speak to the Lesotho Times.

“I would like to reserve my comment for now,” Marumo said.

Makhata said she will decline the nomination.

“I will withdraw my nomination. I appreciate the fact that I have been nominated as it shows people have confidence in my abilities as treasurer,” Makhata said.

“But I will continue to work hard for the LCD and will fiercely support my successor to make sure they take over from where I left off, especially because I had already made great strides.”

Lets’ela also said he would turn down his nomination “because I am not yet ready for the responsibility”.

“Being the LCD youth league’s vice-president is a task greater than being an MP. There is still so much for me to learn,” Lets’ela said.

“In future I might accept nomination. But now I have to heed Ntate Mosisili’s advice, that when you are new to certain things, you should take the back seat by talking less, listening more and learning in the process.”

Bulane, Litjobo, Lebajoa and Seithleko could not be reached for comment.

The current interim LCD youth committee led by Mojakisane was elected in May last year following the dissolution of the previous committee.

Under the LCD’s election rules, nominees reserve the right to either accept or decline their nominations.

Constituencies were expected to have officially confirmed their nominees by yesterday.

You may also like

Comments are closed.

About Us

Lesotho’s widely read newspaper, published every Thursday and distributed throughout the country and in some parts of South Africa. Contact us today: News: editor@lestimes.co.ls 

Advertising: marketing@lestimes.co.ls 

Telephone: +266 2231 5356