Home Sport LASA winners to finally get prizes

LASA winners to finally get prizes

by Lesotho Times
0 comment 126 views

Mikia Kalati

THE winners of the Lesotho Sports Annual Awards (LASA) are finally set to receive their prizes after government released funds for the awards that were held five months ago.

LSRC president Khiba Mohoanyane told the Lesotho Times this week that they have finally received funds from the Sports ministry and the athletes will soon be given their prizes.

“As you know, our awards are sponsored by the ministry of Sports,” Mohoanyane said.

“Apparently there were delays in releasing the funds to us by the ministry which brought the tension between us and all the winners.

“However, the funds are now being processed.”

Chief information officer in the ministry of Sports, Maqalika Matsepe, said the delays were caused by the processes they have to go through to get the funds from the ministry of finance.

“The ministry of Sports gets its money from the ministry of finance on a quarterly basis and because it was for an event that happened in the previous financial year, it takes time to get those funds in the new financial year.

“The funds were released in the last three weeks,” Matsepe said.

Long distance runners Neheng Khatala was among the winners at the awards held on 18 March at Manthabiseng Convention Centre.

Khatala walked away with both the Sportswoman and Sports-star of the year awards bagging M10 000.

The awards were sponsored by the ministry of Sports and the LSRC with every award being worth M5000.

List of winners at the LASA awards in March:

Sports Legends Awards

Rantsubise Matete (media)

Motlatsi Ncholu (media)

Seephephe Matete (football)

Junior Sports Woman of the Year

Malillo Phera (chess)

Junior Sports Man of the Year

Teboho Lelimo (chess)

Sports Column

Mikia Kalati

Sports Reporter of the Year/Photojournalist

Thabelo Monamane

Administration of the Year

Mokhosi Mohapi (football)

Coach of the Year

Mabotile Lebopo (athletics)

Empire/Referee of the Year

Chakatsa Lepole (netball)

Best newcomer of the year

Khabo Suiching (Taekwondo)

National Federation of the Year

Lesotho Boxing Association

Sports Woman of the Year

‘Neheng Khatala (athletics)

Sports Star of the year

‘Neheng Khatala (athletics)

You may also like

Leave a Comment

The reCAPTCHA verification period has expired. Please reload the page.