Home Entertainment Big Nuz to light up pageant

Big Nuz to light up pageant

by Lesotho Times
0 comment

By Lerato Matheka

MASERU — Tickets for the 2010 Miss Vodacom PC FM pageant on Saturday are selling like “fat cakes”, one of the organisers has said.

Kholu Qhobela, the station manager with People’s Choice (PC) FM, told the Weekender they expected Lesotho’s biggest beauty pageant to draw a full house at ‘Manthabiseng Convention Centre.

No tickets will be sold at the venue.

South African kwaito ensemble Big Nuz are the biggest draw-card for the show.

The award-winning trio, alongside compatriot Theo Kgosinkwe, will be the big names on the entertainment roster for the pageant.

A host of local entertainers have also been roped in for Saturday night’s big show.

“We have set aside 800 tickets to be sold including complimentary tickets,” Qhobela said.

“We are proud to say despite the price increment from last year’s entrance fee, the tickets are selling like fat cakes.”

Vodacom Lesotho’s acting marketing manager, Refiloe Mohlotsane, said they had created hype around Saturday’s event by parading the contestants around Maseru and neighbouring towns.

The telecommunications company is the major sponsor of the pageant, started by PC FM 11 years ago.

Mohlotsane said they had also received an overwhelming response to the text-in campaign where Vodacom Lesotho subscribers were able to vote for their favourite contestants via SMS.

“We were shocked that most people in the outskirts of Maseru knew so little of the pageant,” Mohlotsane said.

“But after we went to different places within Maseru and reached Maputsoe and neighbouring towns, we are confident we will have a full house for the event.”

The winner of the crown will get the grand prize of a brand new GWM Florid Super Lux car.

Outgoing Miss Vodacom PC FM Karabelo Mokoallo won a Chevrolet Spark last year.

Nthabiseng Mpakanyane, ‘Nesoang Mpota, Teboho Ntšasa, Thato Mosooane, ‘Masefo Mokoma, Khopotso Mosito, Palesa Lebelonyane and Thandiwe Mponzo are among the contestants for this year’s top prize.

The others are Joyce Khajoane, ‘Mantimile Sello, Tebello Kobeli, Lolam Soere, Liseloane Malelu, Gladys Pelesa, Konesoang Setlai and Limpho Phosholi.

You may also like

Lesotho’s widely read newspaper, published every Thursday and distributed throughout the country and in some parts of South Africa. 

@2023 – Lesotho Times. All Rights Reserved.