LASA nominees announced

Mikia Kalati

THE Lesotho Sports and Recreation Commission (LSRC) this week announced the finalists for the 2018 Lesotho Annual Sports Awards (LASA) scheduled for 6 April 2019 at the ‘Manthabiseng Convention Centre.

LSRC public relations officer, Refiloe Maphallela, told the media on Tuesday that there would be a few changes to the awards that were revamped in 2017 having been introduced a year earlier as the Sports Legacy Awards.

He said this year’s awards will include the president award which is meant to honour individuals who have demonstrated courage and character in developing sports, established and maintained an environment of selfless service and peace through using sports as a universal language.

“The change come with the introduction of the president award in which the LSRC president will give awards to individuals or clubs that have shown courage and character in developing sports,” Maphallela said.

However, speaking at the same event, LSRC Secretary General Mofihli Makoele expressed disappointment at the corporate world’s has failure to chip in with sponsorship.

He said they are not satisfied by the response of their associations in making nominations for the awards.

“The response rate is unsatisfactory. Going forward, it is important to consult with the associations and review the process. We are not happy with the responses and we will work together to rectify it.

“I think the business community is not aware of the benefits that it can benefit through sports. Even politicians regularly host sports activities in their constituencies because they all benefit.

“However, when sports need their assistance, they are reluctant to bring their support. Maybe we need to re-visit them with a different approach. It’s not fair that only All4one Sports sponsors our events because they are not the only organisation profiting from sports,” Makoele said.

Lesotho star performer at the 2018 African Union Sports Council (AUSC) REGION 5 Games, Manqabang Tsibela is among the finalists for the Junior Female Sportsperson of the Year after an impressive performance in Botswana, where she won three medals.

Lerato Sechele is also in the running for the Sportswoman of the Year after winning bronze at the African Championship in Nigeria last year,

Chess trio of Tokelo Klaas, Theko Khanyapa and Sechaba Khalema will go head to head for the Sportsman of the Year,

In Football, Likuena and Bantu will both be contesting for the Sports Team of the Year along with Lerotholi Polytechnic basketball team.

Bantu coach James Madidilane is also in the running for the coach of the Year award and will contest with Moseli Phera of Chess as well as Nomazondo Seleteng of the Lesotho Primary Schools Sports Association.

The Lesotho Times’  Mikia Kalati is in the running for the Journalist of the Year award, which was last year won by the paper’s photographer, Thabelo Monamane.


Sports Star of the Year: Tokelo Klaas (chess), Theko Khanyapa (chess), Sechaba Khalema (chess), ‘Neheng Khatala (athletics), Lerata Sechele (athletics), Malehloa Likhomo (chess).

Sports Legacy Awards:  Vincent Rakabaele (athletics), Thulo ‘Magic touch’ Leboela, (soccer), Refiloe “Popo’ Matšoara (soccer), Lekoane ‘Computer’ Lekoane (soccer), Mokete Mokhosi (taekwondo), Patrick Andrews (Off-road).

Sports Journalist of the Year: Christ Theko Mopeli (CFL), Mikia Kalati (Lesotho Times), Leemisa Thuseho (Informative Newspaper).

Coach of the Year: James Madidilane (soccer), Moseli Phera (chess), Nomazondo Seleteng (LePSSA).

Umpire/ Referee of the Year: Tšeliso Motloheloa (chess), Chakatsa Lephole (Netball), Mamokebe Moshoeshoe (Netball).

Administrator of the Year:  Phoka Thesele (school sport), Buller Phalatse (volleyball), Lisema Mapetla (LBSA).

Volunteer of the Year:  Esther Semana (LBSA), ‘Malekanyane Qhalisi (LePSSA). ‘Nete Khoanyane (aerobics).

National Federation of the Year:  Federation of Lesotho Rugby, Lesotho Primary Schools Sports Associations, Lesotho Volleyball Association.

Sport School of the Year (Secondary Schools): St Paul High School, Leqele High School, Bereng High School.

Sports team of the Year: Bantu (soccer), Lerotholi Polytechnic Basketball team, Likuena (soccer).

Newcomer of the Year: Bonolo Ntsielo (chess), Thebe Semoko (athletics), Mosiuoa Motsieloa (athletics).

Sportsman of the Year: Tokelo Klaas (chess), Theko Khanyapa (chess), Sechaba Khalema (chess).

Sportswoman of the Year: ‘Neheng Khatala (athletics), Lerato Sechele (athletics), Malehloa Likhomo (chess).

Junior Male Sportsperson of the Year: Mojakisane Lebakae (chess), Teboho Lelimo (chess).

Junior Female Sportsperson of the Year with Disability: Puseletso Tsoelipe (athletics), Hlompho Kete (athletics).

Junior Male Sportsperson of the Year with Disability: Mosiuoa Motsieloa (athletics), Zimzela K’hamqane (athletics).

Junior Female of Sportsperson of the Year:  Malilo Phera (chess), Manqabang Tsibela (athletics), Reitumetse Taioe (chess), Thebe Semoko (athletics).


Show More

Lesotho Times

Lesotho's widely read newspaper, published every Thursday and distributed throughout the country and in some parts of South Africa. Contact us today: News: Advertising: Telephone: +266 2231 5356

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button